Glorious blue skies and light winds greeted the competitors at this years Subaru Australian Open Criterium at Noosa Heads.  A fantastic field of national and international cyclists, including current Green Jersey winner Peter Sagan, lined up to have a crack at winning the $4400 first prize purse.

During the first 45 minutes of high intensity racing, the pack was often led out by Cannondales Cameron Wurf, with heavy work also being ground out at the front by Orica Green Edge star Luke Durbridge and local Noosa rider Ben Johnson.

A three man breakaway emerged with minimal laps remaining, including former Green Jersey legend Robbie McEwen, who ultimately went on to win the title.


Peter Sagan


Ben Johnson


Robbie McEwen

Pedal Hard..

Haydn Thomas:

Previous articleBike Wheels - The high Rollers
Next article2013 Noosa Triathlon
Haydn has been bitten by the cycling bug and bitten hard. Like most Aussie kids, he grew up riding his beloved chrome BMX before moving onto a Mountain Bike. Haydn describes his transition onto a road bike as a Renaissance and since that time has never looked back. If not riding the awesome roads of Queensland’s Sunshine Coast, Haydn can often be found photographing local cycling events. As Pedaltorque co-founder, Haydn is responsible for editing and photography. He rides a Specialized Tarmac.